Ecological Communities

Seven Endangered Ecological Communities (EEC’s) have been recorded in the Mandalong area. An ecological community is listed under NSW legislation as an Endangered Ecological Community when it is “facing a very high risk of extinction in New South Wales in the near future.”

The seven Mandalong Endangered Ecological Communities are:

  1. Redgum Rough-barked Apple Forest
  2. Swamp Mahogany – Paperbark Forest
  3. Alluvial Tall Moist Forest
  4. Subtropical Rainforest
  5. Lower Hunter Spotted Gum – Ironbark Forest
  6. Swamp Woodland
  7. Freshwater Wetland Complex